VEGETARIAN
A vegetarian consumes a diet of fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts, seeds and most often dairy. This includes not only milk but cheese, eggs and butter as well. A vegetarian does not eat meat, poultry or fish, and may also avoid animal by-products such as gelatin. Although some fish-only eaters refer to themselves as vegetarians, it has become widely accepted to refer to them as pescatarians.

VEGAN
A vegan consumes a diet of fruits, vegetables, grains, nuts and seeds. Or as we like to call it, plants. Vegans do not eat any animal by-products, period. No eggs, no cheese, no butter, and even no honey. The term vegan may also be used to describe a lifestyle in which no animal by-products, such as leather, are used.

GLUTEN & GLUTEN-FREE
Gluten is the protein present in food processed from wheat. This means that most breads, cereals, grains and crackers, to name a few, contain gluten. Watch out! Gluten pops up in the least suspect of places like soy sauce! One who is gluten-free avoids all products containing gluten. This may be a result of a serious disease called Celiacs, or a gluten allergy/sensitivity. Some of the most common gluten-free approved grains are: quinoa, rice (of any variety), corn, buckwheat and millet. Most gluten-free products are labeled as such so make sure to check the packaging.